Movers & Shakers 01/29/12

Marie Franklin has joined Heritage Coffee Roasting Co. Franklin began her career at Heritage in 1983, then continued on to Philadelphia-based specialty roaster Old City Coffee and Seattle’s Torrefazione Italia. Most recently, Franklin served as director of sales and marketing for Portland Roasting. Portland Roasting won many honors, including of one of the industry’s highest, the prestigious “Roaster of the Year” awarded by Roast Magazine. Heritage Coffee Roasting Company was founded in 1974 as one of Alaska’s first specialty coffee roasters and now owns and operates seven unique coffee houses in Juneau.

Pat Berry of Credit Union 1 has been promoted from internal auditor to chief audit executive, a vice president-level position. Berry has spent 16 years developing and implementing CU1’s internal audit programs as well as developing an Enterprise Risk Management system at the credit union. Berry has been awarded professional certifications for Certified Internal Auditor, Certified Fraud Examiner and Certified Information Systems Auditor.

Karen Goentzel has been hired as senior escrow officer at Alyeska Title Guaranty Agency. Goentzel came to Alaska in 1978 and her first job was selling guns at Elmendorf Air Force Base. In 1979, she changed careers to finance and real estate and has been in the industry for 30 years.

Penny Gage and Trevor Fulton have joined the staff of Sen. Bert Stedman, R-Sitka, for the 2012 legislative session. Gage grew up in Southeast Alaska in the communities of Pelican and Sitka. Her professional experience includes working for the Rasmuson Foundation in Anchorage, interning with the U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service in Washington, D.C., and serving as a U.S. Peace Corps volunteer in Nicaragua. Fulton most recently worked for the Department of Natural Resources. He also brings several years of prior experience as a legislative aide focusing on natural resources and energy policy issues.

Ben Seekins was appointed to the Fairbanks District Court. Seekins is currently an assistant district attorney in Fairbanks. Seekins worked for Cook & Haugeberg as a certified public accountant, having graduated from the University of Alaska Fairbanks with a bachelor’s degree in accounting and a master’s in business administration. He went on to earn his juris doctorate from Gonzaga Law, graduating summa cum laude. Seekins practiced criminal defense and civil law with Downes, MacDonald & Levengood, and has worked in the district attorney’s office since 2003.

Anecia O’Carroll, Verna Nanalook-Adams, Carmell Shade and Jim Rogacki have joined Bristol Bay Native Corp. O’Carroll is a BBNC shareholder that is filling the new development officer position for the BBNC Education Foundation. Nanalook-Adams is a BBNC shareholder that joined BBNC as executive assistant earlier this month. Nanalook-Adams was previously employed as administrative land technician at BBNC. Shade is a BBNC shareholder who joined BBNC in December as communications specialist. For the past four and a half years she worked within the Ahtna family of companies in various communications, marketing and operational roles, and had an earlier career with SpecPro Inc., a BBNC subsidiary in San Antonio, Texas. Rogacki is the benefits manager at BBNC. He joined BBNC in October from Apartment Investment and Management Co. in Denver, Colo., where he was head of benefits.

Peter B. Brautigam, F. Steven Mahoney and Robert L. Manley of Manley & Brautigam P.C. have each been named to the Alaska Super Lawyers list as among the top 5 percent of attorneys in Alaska. Brautigam is included in the practice areas of estate planning and probate and tax; and, Manley is included in the practice areas of estate planning and probate, tax and closely held business.

Agatha Erickson has been named Sen. Mark Begich’s new rural liaison, and Air Force Maj. Leigh Hasson has been selected to serve as a military fellow in the senator’s Washington, D.C., office. Erickson is Koyukon Athabascan and a tribal member of the village of Kaltag. She earned a bachelor’s degree with honors in Native American Studies at Dartmouth. Erickson comes to the Begich staff after working for the Tanana Chiefs Conference since 2009, first as editor of the TCC newsletter and later as communications director. Hasson will work with Begich on military issues in connection with his service on the Senate Armed Services Committee and the Veterans’ Affairs Committee. Prior to her fellowship, Hasson has deployed in support of Operations Northern and Southern Watch and Enduring and Iraqi Freedom. She has served as an executive officer at Wing and High Headquarters and has experience establishing the International Security Assistance Force Joint Command multinational Headquarters in Kabul, Afghanistan, as well as humanitarian assistance experience from a deployment to Pakistan.

Kathy Dunn has been promoted to vice president of marketing and sales Alaska Travel Industry Association. For the last 12 years, Dunn has served as the director of marketing. During that time, Dunn led efforts to market and reinforce Alaska’s brand, “Alaska: Beyond Your Dream, Within Your Reach.” A graduate of the University of Minnesota, Dunn has a bachelor’s degree in communication studies with an emphasis in journalism and public relations. Dunn, a 30-year resident of Alaska, will continue her involvement with the state’s tourism marketing program in the U.S. and Canada. Dunn’s marketing background includes seven years at a full-service advertising agency in Anchorage, managing tourism-related accounts such as Era Aviation, the Alaska Railroad, and the Anchorage Organizing Committee for the 1992 and 1994 Winter Olympics.

Orin Seybert, founder and president of PenAir, has resigned and his son, Danny Seybert, was elected to the position of chairman and CEO. Scott Bloomquist was promoted to president and Lloyd Seybert to secretary/treasurer. Dave Hall has been hired as the company’s new chief operating officer. Hall, who most recently served as general manager of Signature Flight Support in Anchorage, has held key positions over a 35-year span in the aviation industry. Other staff members promoted were: Bryan Carricaburu, VP operations; Al Orot, VP services; Melissa Anderson, VP sales and marketing; Mike Cerkovnik VP finance; Mike Bradley, VP engineering and maintenance and Brian Whilden, VP safety.

01/26/2012 - 9:37am