Movers & Shakers 03/17/13

Bob Roses was appointed to the Alaska Royalty Oil and Gas Development Advisory Board. Roses, of Anchorage, is a former math teacher and former member of the Alaska House of Representatives. He is also a past president of Superior Car Wash Systems of Alaska, past member of the Alaska Retirement Management Board, and past president of the Anchorage Education Association. Roses graduated from Alaska Methodist University, now known as Alaska Pacific University, with a degree in mathematics.

Judge Jane Kauvar was appointed to the Fairbanks Superior Court. Kauvar has served the District Court in Fairbanks since 1981. In that role, she has also served temporarily as a Superior Court Judge in Fairbanks, Kenai, and Bethel. She has served as a Fairbanks Juvenile Treatment Court Judge, and currently serves as a magistrate training judge. Timothy Dooley was appointed to the Nome Superior Court. Dooley has served in private practice in Anchorage since 1993, primarily focusing on criminal, personal injury, maritime and employment law. He graduated from the University of Alaska Fairbanks with degrees in mining and history. Dooley has worked in a variety of industries including logging, firefighting, mining, oil and gas, and commercial fishing. He earned a juris doctorate from St. Mary’s Law School.

Karen Kochenbach is the new chief of the U.S. Army Corps of Engineers-Alaska District regulatory division.  She assumes statewide responsibility for administering the regulatory program pursuant to Section 10 of the Rivers and Harbors Act, Section 103 of the Marine Sanctuaries and Protection Act, and Section 404 of the Clean Water Act. Kochenbach formerly served as a section chief for the Corps’ Pittsburgh District where she led a team of eight regulators responsible for processing permit actions for oil, gas and coal mining projects in western Pennsylvania and West Virginia. She earned a bachelor’s degree in environmental studies from Nasson College in Maine in 1982.

Four new individuals have joined their Alaska Community Foundation statewide board of directors: Penny Pedersen, Kate Slyker, Andy Teuber and Bill Sheffield. In Ketchikan, Pedersen is the executive director for PeaceHealth Medical Center. Prior to joining PeaceHealth, Pederson served on the PeaceHealth board, as well as many other boards for Alaska nonprofits. In Anchorage, Slyker is the executive vice president of client services with the Nerland Agency, a full-service advertising agency located in Anchorage. She received her bachelor’s degree in marketing and English from the Carroll School of Management at Boston College. In Kodiak, Teuber serves as the President and Chairman of the Alaska Native Tribal Health Consortium and as the CEO and President of the Kodiak Area Native Association. He holds an MBA from the University of Washington. In Anchorage, Sheffield has been a leader in business, government and public policy for most of the 56 years he has lived in Alaska. He served as Governor of the State of Alaska from 1982 to 1986 following a business career in which he built a company that became one of the largest private employers in Alaska and the Yukon Territory. Sheffield is the retired president and CEO of the Alaska Railroad Corp. and now serves as the vice chairman of its board.

Perry Eaton and Lucy Mahan have joined First National Bank Alaska’s board of directors, the bank announced today. Eaton was born in Kodiak and grew up working on his father’s fishing boat. He lives in Anchorage and is a shareholder and director at Koniag Inc. He worked as a commercial lender for First National Bank Alaska early in his professional career, which included serving as founder and CEO of the Alaska Native Heritage Center, and as an officer in various capacities at Alyeska Pipeline Service Company. A licensed professional counselor who resides in Homer and has offices in Anchorage and Homer, Mahan graduated from Anchorage’s West High and earned degrees from the University of Colorado and Alaska Pacific University. Mahan owns and facilitates Transitional Counseling LLC. Becky Walters was also recently appointed Human Resources Manager by First National Bank Alaska’s board of directors. She has worked in the banking industry for more than 30 years in a number of different roles.

Sue Hull of Fairbanks was sworn in as a member of the State Board of Education & Early Development at the board’s meeting in Juneau on March 7 for a five-year term. Hull is co-owner of Ben Lomond Inc., a property management and residential construction firm. She has held a seat on the Fairbanks North Star Borough School Board since 2004 and currently serves as president of the Association of Alaska School Boards. Additionally, she is a past president of the Alaska PTA.

Michael Lyssy has joined the Anchorage office of aeSolutions as their safety and control systems group manager. Lyssy has more than 30 years of experience consulting industrial customers in the refining, chemical, and power industries, designing and implementing improvements to their alarm management programs.

Christina Magill, MD, is now serving patients of all ages in the Mat-Su Valley at her newly opened office in the Providence Health and Service Building at 2250 S. Woodworth Loop, Suite 101 in Wasilla. Magill, of Alyeska Center for Facial Plastic Surgery and ENT, provides specialist care for all areas of the head, neck and face with comprehensive ear, nose and throat evaluation and treatment in addition to head and neck surgery. She also performs nose, ear, eyelid, and sinus procedures. She is highly experienced in facial surgery, including skin cancer removal and treatment, facial cosmetic and reconstructive surgery, and non-surgical facial rejuvenation. Magill is board-certified in otolaryngology and attained her medical degree from the University of Washington, and completed a residency in ear, nose and throat surgical subspecialty training at Washington University in St. Louis.

03/13/2013 - 11:43am