Movers & Shakers April 14, 2002

John Lowrance was recently presented the 2002 Best Practice and Innovation in Seafood Award by World Trade Center Alaska during the 2002 Business of SeaFood Conference and Tradeshow. The award identifies and recognizes individuals, companies, associations or communities that find successful new ways of responding to the demands of international markets. In 1999 Lowrance founded Leader Creek Fisheries LLC, which emphasizes sales to domestic markets with its wild sockeye salmon fillets program.

Bill Popp has been appointed sales manager for HiSpeed Gear at 405 Overland St. in Kenai. Popp previously served as fleet sales manager for Kenai Chrysler Center. Popp has more than 25 years of business experience including corporate management, small business ownership, capital project management and general business experience. Popp will oversee the expansion of the sales department at HiSpeed Gear.

Kerr Cal Kerr has joined Northern Economics as a project manager/analyst. Kerr has a background in project management, forestry, financial analysis and information technology. Kerr most recently worked for IT Alaska Inc.

Susan Benedetti and Chuck Diters have been appointed to the Anchorage Historic Properties board of directors. Benedetti currently serves as vice president, mortgage loan department at First National Bank Alaska. Benedetti has 30 years of mortgage lending experience. Diters serves as the regional historic preservation officer for the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, Region 7. Diters is in charge of historic preservation compliance of national wildlife refuges in Alaska.

Alaska Legal Services Corp., a statewide program offering free civil legal assistance to low-income Alaskans, has hired Andrew R. Harrington as executive director. Harrington, of Fairbanks, most recently served as the supervising attorney for the organization’s Fairbanks office. Harrington was unanimously selected by the ALSC board of directors following national recruitment efforts and a search committee process. His legal career spans 20 years.

Alaska Airlines has promoted Dave Burris to Anchorage customer service manager. Burris will be responsible for both ground service operations and passenger service at Ted Stevens Anchorage International Airport. Burris, a 14-year employee of the company, most recently served as the Anchorage passenger service manager. Burris began his career at Alaska Airlines as a reservation agent in Anchorage and has served as a customer service supervisor in Fairbanks and a customer service manager in Kotzebue.

Jack Wilbur, Eric Anderson and Serena Markey were recently presented awards for Engineer of the Year, Young Engineer of the Year and Student Engineer of the Year, respectively, at the Alaska Society of Professional Engineers’ annual awards banquet in Fairbanks. Wilbur, a professional engineer, has served as president of Design Alaska Inc. since 1995. Wilbur joined the firm as a mechanical engineering intern in 1975 and has led the mechanical engineering department as chief mechanical engineer for 20 years. Anderson is a senior engineer and laboratory quality manager for the Fairbanks office of Shannon & Wilson Inc. Anderson worked for the company as a construction materials technician during college and upon graduation, was promoted to engineer. Anderson has worked on various geotechnical, environmental and hydrologic projects throughout Alaska and in other states. Markey will receive a bachelor’s degree in civil engineering from the University of Alaska Fairbanks in May. Markey’s experience in the engineering field comes from working as an engineering intern for the Department of Transportation and as a research assistant in the Hydraulics Laboratory at UAF.

Wells Fargo Bank Alaska has added Judith Crotty and Asta Keller to its community relations department. Crotty has been employed by the bank for more than 20 years in various management positions and is a vice president. Crotty will serve as Community Reinvestment Act officer and will also oversee charitable donations in Anchorage, coordinate financial education, and partner with private and government agencies to develop affordable housing. Keller has been hired as corporate relations officer. Keller will represent the bank in community and economic development activities and act as a referral source for business development projects. Keller will serve as the bank’s liaison between rural communities, local agencies, nonprofit organizations and minority groups.

Kay Slack of K Slack Associates Inc. has been awarded the Palmer Chamber of Commerce’s 2002 Pioneer Award. The chamber’s highest honor recognizes Slack’s volunteer service to the chamber and the Palmer community. Slack has served on the chamber’s board of directors from 1991 to 1996 and from 1998 to the present, on its budget committee since 1991 and for the group’s auction since 1995.

Frank Williams, vice chancellor for administrative services at the University of Alaska Fairbanks, has returned full time as director of the Arctic Region Supercomputing Center. Williams has held a dual appointment as center director and vice chancellor since 1999. Williams joined UAF in January 1992 as dean of the school of engineering. Mark Neumayr will act as interim vice chancellor for administrative services. Neumayr currently serves as the senior associate general counsel for the University of Alaska. Neumayr has worked for the university since 1982, serving in several roles in the general counsel’s office.

The Alaska Wilderness Recreation & Tourism Association has elected its 2002 board of directors. Officers elected include: board president, Cathy Hart, Alaska Marine Highways in Anchorage; secretary, Katrina Church-Chmielowski, Prince William Sound Community College in Glennallen; treasurer, Wanetta Ayers, Destination Marketing Services Inc. in Anchorage; and past president, Carol Kasza, Arctic Treks in Fairbanks. Directors include: Deb Ajango, University of Alaska Anchorage; Todd Bureau, Adventure Alaska Tours Inc.; Tom DeLong, Tolovana Hot Springs; Buckwheat Donahue, Skagway Convention & Visitors Bureau; Pete Heddell, Honey Charters; Catherine McDermott, Alaska Wildland Adventures; Mark McIntosh, The Boat Co.; Karen Petersen, Prince of Wales Island; Mya Renken, Unalaska /Port of Dutch Harbor Convention & Visitors Bureau; and Gerry Sanger, Sound Eco Adventures.

The Alaska Society of Convention and Visitors Bureaus has elected the following officers for 2002: president, Deb Hickok, president and chief executive of the Fairbanks Convention and Visitors Bureau; vice president, Buckwheat Donahue, executive director of the Skagway CVB; treasurer, Michelle Glass, executive director of the Haines CVB; and secretary, Bonnie Quill, interim executive director of the Matanuska-Susitna CVB.

Four Alaska teachers were selected as recipients of the 2001 Presidential Awards for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching administered by the National Science Foundation. The honored teachers are: Lisa Stewart of Swanson Elementary School, Palmer; Sheryl Sotelo of Cooper Landing Elementary School, Cooper Landing; Ruth Mount of Mirror Lake Middle School, Chugiak; and Ronald Reihl of Tanana Middle School, Fairbanks.

11/12/2016 - 12:11pm