Movers & Shakers 08/25/13

AT&T announced the promotion of Immanuel (Manny) Lewis to sales manager, business markets in the Business Integrated Solutions group in Anchorage. Lewis joined AT&T in 2008 as a college hire account executive and was most recently an account manager in the Government, Education, Medical module in the BIS group. In his new position he will oversee wireline sales for medium-sized organizations.

Pamela Leary, Alaska State Comptroller, received the American Institute of Certified Public Accountants 2013 Outstanding CPA in Government Impact Award. Leary has been nationally recognized for her work in creating a transparent accounting of the State’s $49 billion portfolio comprised of general funds, budget reserves and retirement trust accounts. Her work has been essential in allowing the state to actively manage its funds in a time of market volatility. Leary’s contributions are a credit to the sound financial management of the State. Leary has been with the Alaska Department of Revenue since 2007.

International law firm Dorsey & Whitney LLP announced that five lawyers in the firm’s  Anchorage office were recently selected by their peers for inclusion in The Best Lawyers in America 2014. In addition, two have been named Best Lawyers’ 2014 Lawyers of the Year. The Best Lawyers’ 2014 Lawyers of the Year are Robert C. Bundy, Anchorage Bet-the-Company Litigation, and Richard M. Rosston, Anchorage Real Estate Law. Bundy was also named Best Lawyer for commercial litigation, criminal defense: non-white-collar, criminal defense: white-collar, litigation–antitrust, litigation–environmental. Rosston was also named Best Lawyer for corporate law, mergers and acquisitions law, and real estate law. Jahna Lindemuth was named Best Lawyer for medical malpractice law–defendants. Michael R. Mills was named Best Lawyer for bankruptcy and creditor debtor rights-insolvency and reorganization law. Spencer C. Sneed was named Best Lawyer for litigation-bankruptcy.

The American Medical Association Foundation awarded the Arthur N. Wilson, MD Scholarship to Kirsten Jorgensen, of Juneau. Jorgensen is a first-year medical student at the University of Washington School of Medicine. Jorgensen will receive a $5,000 scholarship to help defray medical school expenses. Jorgensen grew up in Juneau and graduated as the valedictorian of Juneau-Douglas High School. She received a bachelor’s degree from Harvard University, where her honors thesis focused on public health delivery via ships to rural Alaska from 1945 to 1956. Jorgensen served as a peer health exchange volunteer in public high schools in Boston and she recently completed an internship with Partners in Health in Peru. After medical school, Jorgensen aspires to work as a physician in rural Alaska to improve primary care delivery and positively impact health outcomes for women and children. Established by a bequest of Dr. Wilson, a distinguished resident of Ketchikan, the award highlights the critical role of rural physicians in their communities.

Russell Dick, Crystal Nygard, and Dana Pruhs were appointed to the board of directors for the Alaska Industrial Development and Export Authority and Alaska Energy Authority. The governor’s appointments will serve on both boards. Dick, of Juneau, is the president and CEO of Haa Aaní LLC, a subsidiary of Sealaska established to expand the regional economy by fostering new and sustainable industries, specifically in rural communities. He also serves as Huna Totem Corp.’s board chair. Dick earned a bachelor’s degree in business from the University of Phoenix, a bachelor’s degree in industrial engineering from Stanford University, and a master’s degree in management from Stanford Graduate School of Business. Nygard, of Wasilla, is the co-founder and CEO of the Mat-Su Business Alliance, and owner of Managing Recruiters of Palmer. She previously owned Tutka LLC, a full service environmental consulting firm specializing in Alaska logistics for the oil and gas industry, manufacturing, and exploration companies. She is a professional business graduate of the AJI Network and earned her bachelor’s degree in communications from Western Washington University. Pruhs, of Anchorage, is a lifelong Alaskan and the owner of Pruhs Construction, Quality Sand and Gravel, Meridian Investments, and Harr Technologies. Pruhs currently serves on the Alaska Royalty Oil and Gas Development Advisory Board, the Municipality of Anchorage Planning and Zoning Commission, and the Associated General Contractors of Alaska Board of Directors. He earned a bachelor’s degree in civil and transportation engineering from California Polytechnic State University.

Vern Stockwell and Becky Gardner of the Stockwell Farm in Palmer have been selected by the Alaska agricultural community as the 2013 Farm Family of the Year. They were honored at the Alaska State Fair on Thursday, Aug. 22. Stockwell Farm sells its produce at multiple different farmers markets in Anchorage and is notable for its eight different varieties of carrots, 18 different varieties of potatoes, sweet onions, colored cauliflower, cabbage, tomatoes, strawberries and more. Gardner’s dandelion jelly, ginger-rhubarb jam and other prepared food products are famous amongst her friends. Stockwell and Gardner partner with Colony Next Step — part of a school district program in the Mat-Su that serves young adult students with disabilities — to provide vocational training on their farm. Stockwell grew up on a 600-acre farm in South Dakota and has been a member of the Mat-Su Chapter of the Farm Bureau for many years, most recently serving as treasurer of the organization.

Six lawyers from the Anchorage office of Davis Wright Tremaine LLP have been selected by their peers for inclusion in the 2013 edition of Alaska Super Lawyers published by Thomson Reuters Legal. Only five percent of the lawyers in Alaska are named to this list. They are Jon S. Dawson: business/corporate, business litigation, intellectual property; Gregory S. Fisher: employment and labor, appellate; Barbara Simpson Kraft: real estate, business/corporate, land use/zoning; David W. Oesting:  business litigation, bankruptcy and creditor/debtor rights, environmental; Joseph L. Reece: business/corporate, real estate; Robert K. Stewart Jr.: employment and labor, government contracts, general litigation.

08/22/2013 - 8:23am