Movers & Shakers 11/4/12

The 2012 Women of Achievement honorees have been chosen by the YWCA. Our honorees this year are as follows: Ellen Arvold, Owner/President Second Run; Edith Bailey, Retired Captain Public Health Service; Lori Brewer, Owner Sappore Coffee Inc., Caffe D’arte; Doreen Brown, Supervisor, Title VII Education, Anchorage School District; Dr. Linda Chamberlain, Epidemiologist, Founding Director Alaska Violence Prevention, State of AK, Public Health; Suzanne Cherot, Attorney, Birch, Horton, Bittner & Cherot; Melinda Freemon, Director of Supportive Housing, Rural Alaska Community Action Program; Lottie Michael, Associate Broker, real estate, Stephens & Johnson Inc.; Peggy Monaghan, Musician, music teacher, Arctic Siren Productions; Deborah Williams, Executive Director, Anchorage Youth Development Coalition. These women will be honored at the 2012 Women of Achievement Awards/Purse Auction Nov. 29 from 6 p.m. to 8 p.m. at the Performing Arts Center Discovery Theater. Tickets are available through the YWCA; $65 for General Admission entry at 6 p.m. or $200 for VIP entry at 5:15 p.m. and a champagne reception with a complimentary swag bag.


Jaime Pinsonneault has been hired as controller for Fairweather LLC, which offers medical, aviation, logistics, weather forecasting, and other services within the oil and gas industry. She was born and raised in Bemidji, Minn., and has been an Alaska resident since 2006. She is graduated Summa Cum Laude from the University of Minnesota, Duluth with a bachelor’s degrees in business finance and in accounting in 2006. She obtained her CPA designation in 2009.


Sarah E. Niecko has been hired by the SouthEast Alaska Regional Health Consortium Ethel Lund Medical Center as a physician assistant. She will work with the Cedar medical home at the Ethel Lund Medical Center. Niecko comes to SEARHC from the upper Kuskokwim River village of Aniak, where she worked as a physician assistant for the Yukon Kuskokwim Health Corp. She earned a bachelor’s degree in psychology, health and humanities at Michigan State University. She earned a master’s degree in medicine from Western Michigan University. Niecko is certified by the National Credentialing Center for Physician Assistants and she is a member of the American Association of Physician Assistants.


William Baynard has been promoted to vice president compliance and in-house counsel at Denali Alaskan Federal Credit Union. Baynard has been at Denali Alaskan for nearly two years, previously serving as the assistant vice president compliance.


In his new role, Baynard is responsible for overseeing the Credit Union’s compliance and legal programs, advising the Credit Union staff of various trade practice laws and helping advance credit union legislation at local, state, regional and national levels. He will also serve as a resource to management for legal and regulatory questions. Baynard graduated from Case Western Reserve University School of Law. He also received a master’s degree in international commerce and policy from George Mason University and a bachelor’s degree from Virginia Wesleyan College.


Sen. Johnny Ellis received the 2012 Legislative Award from the Alaska Mobility Coalition. The award, which recognizes Ellis’ steadfast support of the state’s public transportation systems, was presented during the Community Transportation Transit Conference at the Downtown Anchorage Marriott. Alaska Mobility Coalition leaders say Ellis, D-Anchorage, earned the award for his continuing advocacy and hard work to ensure all Alaskans have access to safe and cost-effective public transportation. The Alaska Mobility Coalition is a non-profit organization founded in 2002 that is dedicated to increasing access to safe and cost-effective public and community transportation options around Alaska.

11/11/2016 - 5:45pm