Movers and Shakers for Feb. 7

Angela Salazar, a member of the Ketchikan Gateway Borough Grant Committee and co-owner of Harbor Point business park, joined the Rasmuson Foundation board of directors this month for a three-year term. She replaces Kris Norosz of Petersburg, who has term-limited off after serving since 2015. She has held board positions with the PeaceHealth Ketchikan Medical Center Foundation, Greater Ketchikan Chamber of Commerce and Ketchikan-Kanayama Sister City Exchange, and she was a member of First City Rotary. In addition to her role on the borough Grant Committee, she leads the live auction for the hospital foundation’s annual Sole-Stice Event and supports the fundraising efforts of her children’s activities. Salazar graduated from Western Washington University with a bachelor’s degree in business administration. Six days after graduation, she returned to Ketchikan and went to work for a local investment and insurance agency. Within five years, she owned the business, then sold it in 2010. Salazar was recognized in 2006 by the Alaska Journal of Commerce with a Top Forty Under 40 award and is a recipient of the Alaska Chamber’s Bill Biven Award.

Explore Fairbanks recently announced its 2021 board of directors. Executive Officers are: Chair Buzzy Chiu, Premier Alaska Tours; Past Chair Andy Anger, UAF Community &Technical College; Chair Elect Kristin Baysinger, Carlson Center; Treasurer Kory Eberhardt, A Taste of Alaska Lodge; and Secretary Ralf Dobrovolny, 1st Alaska Tours, who will also serve as Tourism Chair. Additional board members are: Audit Chair Danielle Hayes, HAP Alaska-Yukon; Communications Chair Javier Villasenor-Gaona, Chena Hot Springs Resort; Nominations Chair Greg Allison, Good, LLC; Public Policy Advisory Chair Adriel Butler, Aurora Expeditions; Visitor Services &Partnership Development Chair Shalley Villamarin, Grande Denali Lodge; Meetings &Conventions Chair Carly Nelson, Wedgewood Resort; Reinhard Neuhauser, Alaska Fishing and Raft Adventures; Erica Moeller, The Roaming Root Cellar; John Scherzer, Westmark Hotel &Conference Center; and Doug Toelle, Running Reindeer Ranch. Ex Officio representatives are Jimi Cash, Fairbanks North Star Borough Assembly, and Shoshana Kun, Fairbanks City Council.

Jeffrey Erickson of Unalakleet was appointed to the state Board of Education and Early Development and Sally Stockhausen of Ketchikan was reappointed. Erickson was appointed Jan. 12 to fill the seat for the Second Judicial District and his term expires March 1, 2024. Stockhausen was reappointed to fill the seat for the First Judicial District and her term expires March 1, 2026. Erickson has served as a teacher, student activities director, and school board member in the Bering Strait School District. Erickson has also served on the Unalakleet City Council for 15 years, as a commercial fisherman, and as regional manager for RurAL CAP Head Start. Erickson holds a bachelor’s degree in kinesiology from the University of Washington. Stockhausen has served as a special education teacher in Alaska for more than 15 years in the Copper River and Ketchikan Gateway Borough School districts. She currently holds certification in Alaska as a teacher and since 2008, she has been teaching special education and English at Ketchikan High School. She Stockhausen holds a bachelor’s degree in elementary education from John Brown University and a master’s degree in special education from the University of Alaska Anchorage.

Whitney A. Brown has joined Stoel Rives LLP’s litigation practice in Anchorage where she will focus her practice on complex litigation. Before joining Stoel Rives, Brown was a law clerk to Morgan Christen of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit, Guido Calabresi of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit, and Goodwin H. Liu of the Supreme Court of California. She earlier worked for several years in Washington, D.C., on health policy issues. Brown received her juris doctor from UCLA School of Law, where she was editor-in-chief of the UCLA Law Review, her master’s of public health and graduate certificate in human rights from Emory University Rollins School of Public Health, and her A.B. from the University of Chicago.

Natasha Pope, vice president and community relations manager at First National Bank Alaska, was elected chair of the United Way of Anchorage board of directors and Alex McKay, vice president of programs at the Rasmuson Foundation, was elected vice chair. The directors also elected Laurie Butcher, senior vice president finance at Alaska Communications, as treasurer, and Beth Stuart, office managing partner at KPMG, as secretary. In addition to the officers, five directors were elected to second three-year terms: Greg Deal, regional president of Wells Fargo; Bill Falsey, former Anchorage municipal manager; Darlene Gates, CEO of ExxonMobil Alaska; Mike Huston, executive vice president at Northrim Bank; and Ed Ulman, CEO of Alaska Public Media. Former chair and longtime board member Belinda Breaux. recently retired from Alyeska Pipeline Service Co.. was elected to a third three-year term. Board terms run through December 2023. Board officers serve one-year terms.

The Koniag Inc. board of directors appointed Christine Kaineg (née Peters-Naughton) as its newest board member. A resident of Alexandria, Va., Kaineg has extensive experience in communications and federal government contracting. She has worked for VSE Corp. in various positions since 2008, including her current position as communications specialist and assistant corporate secretary, where she oversees internal and external communications and supports compliance and communication for the VSE board of directors and committees. She holds a bachelor’s degree in communications from Washington State University.

02/04/2021 - 11:16am