Movers and Shakers for March 15

Explore Fairbanks recently announced its 2020 board of directors. Executive officers are: Chair Ashley Bradish, Gold Dredge 8 and Riverboat Discovery; Past Chair Kathy Hedges, Arctic Circle Trading Post; Chair-Elect Buzzy Chiu, Premier Alaska Tours; Treasurer Kristin Baysinger, Carlson Center, who will also serve as Meetings and Conventions Chair; and Secretary Ralf Dobrovolny, 1st Alaska Tours, who will also serve as Tourism Chair. Additional board members are: Audit Chair Danielle Hayes, HAP Alaska Yukon; Communications Chair Javier Villasenor-Gaona, Chena Hot Springs Resort; Nominations Chair Greg Allison, Good, LLC; Public Policy Advisory Chair Adriel Butler, Aurora Expeditions; Visitor Services &Partnership Development Chair Kory Eberhardt, A Taste of Alaska Lodge; and Reinhard Neuhauser, Alaska Fishing and Raft Adventures; Jess Pena, Fairbanks Arts Association; John Scherzer, Westmark Hotel &Conference Center; Lisa Simons, Springhill Suites by Marriott; and Shalley Villamarin, Grande Denali Lodge. Ex Officio representatives are Jimi Cash, Fairbanks North Star Borough Assembly, and Shoshana Kun, Fairbanks City Council.

The Anchorage ATHENA Society announced the inductees into the Class of 2020. A group of 10 women have been chosen, representing a variety of fields and expertise. The 2020 inductees are: Tammy Lee Ashley, Director of Program Operations, Alaska Native Justice Center; Deena Bishop, Superintendent, Anchorage School District; Deborah Bitney, Vice President of Finance and Administration, Rasmuson Foundation; Lori Davey, Vice President, Enterprise Market, GCI; Valerie Nurr’araaluk Davidson, Owner, Valerie Davidson and Associates; Amy Fredeen, Chief Financial Officer &Executive Vice President, Cook Inlet Tribal Council; Kari C. Hall, Founder, Owner, Operator, Allure Day Spa and Hair Design; Jodie Hettrick, Fire Chief, Anchorage Fire Department; Cathleen N. McLaughlin, Owner/CEO, Restorative and Reentry Services; Melinda Taylor, Communication Director, IBEW Local 1547. The ATHENA Leadership Award, the Society’s highest award, recognizes a former inductee for exceptional service. This year’s recipient is: Carol Gore, President/CEO, Cook Inlet Housing Authority. Before joining CIHA, Gore was VP of Cook Inlet Region where she managed a national and Alaska-based portfolio valued at more than $200 million. The Anchorage ATHENA Society will celebrate professional excellence, commitment to community, and the encouragement of leadership potential of women when the ten new members are inducted at the annual luncheon March 23 at the Dena’ina Center. Doors open at 11:30 am, the program begins at noon and will conclude no later than 1:30 pm.

Trish Skoglund has been appointed vice president of sales and supply for Crowley Fuels LLC, one of Alaska’s leading petroleum transportation, distribution and sales companies serving more than 280 communities throughout the state. Skoglund, based in Anchorage, reports to Rick Meidel, vice president and general manager of Crowley Fuels Alaska. Skoglund has spent the last 12 years in the oil and gas industry in Alaska, and previously worked in the international trading industry. She earned a bachelor’s degree in business administration and marketing from Portland State University, and an MBA in global business from University of Portland. Skoglund holds a Project Management Professional certificate from the Project Management Institute, a global education and research association.

Kristin DeSmith, who has served as communications director for the Municipality of Anchorage since 2017, will take on a new role as senior policy adviser in the mayor’s office. Carolyn Hall has been named the new communications director for the MOA, effective March 9. In her new role, DeSmith will focus on several policy areas, including domestic violence/sexual assault, higher education, and the arts. Hall has more than 15 years of experience in communications and marketing, most recently with the University of Alaska’s Office of University Relations, former Gov. Bill Walker, and the Municipality of Anchorage’s Office of the Municipal Clerk.

03/11/2020 - 9:32am