Movers and Shakers for Jan. 26

Sen. Lisa Murkowski announced two staff promotions on the Senate Energy and Natural Resources Committee: Brianne Miller to be deputy staff director of Energy and Lucy Murfitt to be deputy staff director of Natural Resources. Miller’s portfolio includes the Department of Energy, with a particular focus on energy innovation, basic science research, and climate change. She initially joined ENR to work for Murkowski in 2015 and previously worked for Sen. James Risch, R-Idaho, when he was chairman of ENR’s Energy Subcommittee. Miller also worked on a variety of energy-related issues for Rep. Doc Hastings, R-Wash., and Rep. Pete Olson, R-Texas. Miller’s service on Capitol Hill began in the offices of Sen. Mel Martinez, R-Fla., and Rep. Adam Putnam, R-Fla., when he chaired the House Republican Conference. Murfitt, who is also deputy chief counsel for ENR, provides legal advice and strategy for federal land management and other resource-related issues within the committee’s jurisdiction. Prior to joining ENR in 2013, Murfitt worked as senior legislative counsel to former Sen. Jon Kyl, R-Ariz., handling the energy, environment, and natural resources portfolio. She has also worked at the Ecological Restoration Institute at Northern Arizona University as its director of policy and partnerships. A veteran, Murfitt was a commissioned officer in the U.S. Army Judge Advocate General Corps. As a JAG, Murfitt supervised the Army’s administrative environmental litigation.

Central Council of Tlingit and Haida Indian Tribes of Alaska announced Brent Mulvaney as its new Tribal child support attorney. Serving in this capacity, Mulvaney will represent the Tribal Child Support Unit in its interactions with tribal and state courts and work on the implementation and development of law and policy that will best serve the interests of tribal children. Mulvaney received a juris doctor of law from Seattle University School of Law in 2019 and holds a bachelor’s degree in philosophy from the University of Washington and an associate’s degree in philosophy from Edmonds Community College. Mulvaney previously served as a legal intern for the Administrative Law Clinic at the Seattle University School of Law, writer and executive editor for the American Indian Law Journal and judicial clerk for the Tulalip Tribal Court.

Volunteers of America Alaska announced seven new board members in 2020 including Paul Landes, senior vice president of consumer services at GCI, who will serve as this year’s board chair. Joining him are Carmela Warfield, business owner and real estate investor, who will serve as vice chair; Donald Winchester, former partner at Vend Alaska, retired, who will serve as secretary; Heather Handyside, vice president of corporate communications and community engagement at GCI; Andy Lohman, area president at iHeart Media; Lynn Rust Henderson, VP Alaska group market, Premera Blue Cross Blue Shield of Alaska; and Michael Schmidt, senior marketing manager at GCI. VoA Alaska has provided programs and services to Alaskans since 1981, including adolescent treatment services, housing supports, and prevention, among others. The full list of 2020 board members include: Landes; Warfield; treasurer: Audrey Lance, manager of audit and taxation, Thomas Head &Greisen; Winchester; Handyside; T’Shalla Baker, senior business specialist, Wells Fargo; Lester “Skeet” Black, client service executive, Zenith American Solutions; Amanda Estes, director of client services, Northwest Strategies; Cynthia Franklin, senior counsel, Carlson Law; Henderson; Taryn Link, probation officer IV, State of Alaska Department of Corrections; Andy Lohman, area president, Alaska, iHeart Media; and Schmidt.

Neil Steininger was named director of the Office of Management and Budget, effective Jan. 21. Steininger earned a bachelor’s degree in business administration and economics from the University of Nevada Reno. Steininger has held various roles at OMB through the past five years, serving as budget analyst, chief budget analyst, and most recently as the Administrative Services director for the Department of Education and Early Development. His state experience includes the Department of Transportation and Public Facilities and the Permanent Fund Dividend Division, he previously worked in the private sector as an analyst.

The Anchorage Home Builders Association announced its 2020 board of directors and advisory board members. Board members help lead AHBA’s advocacy and charity work efforts. They also bring continuing education opportunities to members and facilitate the Home Show. They are: Eric Visser, president, Visser Construction; Kyle Mirka, past president, Allen &Petersen; Cody Lee, vice president, Grayling Construction; Brandon Marcott, treasurer, Triad Engineering; Jason Dial, secretary, Rain Proof Roofing; Karen Kassik-Michelson, director, Michelson and Daughter Construction, Inc.; Christina Cope-Henrickson, director; Pete Nolan, director, Alaska Chamber; Darren Williams, director, Spenard Builders Supply; Moises Gutierrez, director, MGJ Building Group; Chappie Cook, director, Cook Construction; Jim Dunlap, director, Dunlap Builders; Brandon Snodgrass, director, First National Bank Alaska. Advisory Board: Clai Porter, NCP Design/Build Ltd.

01/22/2020 - 9:28am