BP names Teachers of the Year

BP announced the winners of the 2019 Alaska Teachers of Excellence on April 8, an award that for more than two decades has recognized the state’s top educators. This year, the group is comprised of 21 teachers that were selected from schools across Alaska.

“These teachers represent the best of Alaska education, and it’s an honor to recognize them with this award,” said BP Alaska President Janet Weiss. “At BP, we’re proud to play a part in supporting their continued success and showing our ongoing commitment to the state and to creating the leaders of tomorrow.”

For 24 years, the BP Teachers of Excellence program has honored K-12 teachers from public and private school districts statewide. This year, BP received hundreds of nominations for the Teachers of Excellence award and for the newly added BP Educational Allies award.

The BP Educational Allies award recognizes unsung heroes in Alaska’s schools such as counselors, teacher assistants and custodians. Since the program’s inception in 1995, BP has recognized more than 750 Alaska teachers. Winning teachers receive a $500 gift card and a $500 matching grant to their school. Teachers also receive a trip to Prudhoe Bay to learn about BP’s operations and paid admission for the Alaska Resource Education’s teacher course.

All teachers and educational allies will be honored at an award ceremony in late April, where the statewide BP Teacher of the Year will be announced. The 2019 BP Teachers of Excellence winners are: Anchorage School District

Natasha Bergt, Huffman Elementary School

Antara Brewer, AJ Dimond High School

Kelly Corrigan, Robert Service High School

Karen Gordon, Northwood ABC Elementary School

Trena Rose, Bayshore Elementary School

Fairbanks School District

Jeannette Fortune, Ladd Elementary School

Tanya Mendelowitz, North Pole Elementary School

Rebecca Missler, North Pole High School

Carolyn Soderlund, Austin E. Lathrop High School

Rebecca Zaverl, Denali Elementary School

Kenai Peninsula

Julie Doepken, William H. Seward Elementary School

Jennifer Hornung, Nikiski Middle/High School

Wendy Todd, Paul Banks Elementary School

Mat-Su Valley

Kimberly Flinn, Goose Bay Elementary School

Sara Lamont, Ron Larson Elementary School

Stacy Molina, Academy Charter School

Sarah Shepard, Colony High School

Other Alaska School Districts

Danielle Huerta, St. Mary’s School, Kodiak

Candace Mudge, Denali Borough School District, Healy

Jody Smothers-Marcello, Sitka High School, Sitka

Gretchen Striker, Tri-Valley School, Healy

04/10/2019 - 9:46am