Movers & Shakers 08/28/16

  • Photo/Tech. Sgt. John Gordinier

Lt. Gen. Kenneth S. Wilsbach became commander of Alaskan North American Aerospace Defense Command Region, Alaskan Command and Eleventh Air Force during a change of command ceremony at JBER on Aug 16. Gen. Wilsbach’s previous assignment was as Director of Operations, U.S. Central Command, at MacDill Air Force Base, Fla. He replaces Lt. Gen. Russell J. Handy, who is retiring after 34 years of service to the U.S. Air Force. Alaskan Command integrates activities of more than 22,000 military members from all services in Alaska as a sub-unified command of U.S. Northern Command. Eleventh Air Force oversees the training and readiness of five Air Force wings and Air Force installations located in Alaska, Hawaii, and Guam. The Alaskan North American Aerospace Defense Command Region directs bilateral air operations with Canada within Alaska to ensure defense against all hostile airborne threats.

The Mat-Su Health Foundation recently welcomed Keith Kehoe and Lebron McPhail to its board of directors. Board members serve three-year terms, and each term may be renewed for two additional three year terms. Kehoe has been a physician assistant in the Upper Mat-Su for almost 20 years. He began working at Sunshine Community Health Center in 1997, providing acute, chronic and preventative medical care. Prior to his employment at Sunshine, he worked as a physician assistant in several other Alaska communities, as well as overseas. His previous board experience includes eight years with the Alaska Primary Care Association from 1998-2005, the Jessica Stevens Foundation since its inception in 2007, and with Talkeetna’s local community radio station, KTNA. Kehoe earned his physician assistant certification from the University of Washington, a master of arts degree from Lesley College, and a bachelor of science degree from Illinois Benedictine College. He is a veteran of the U.S. Army. McPhail worked full-time for the Matanuska-Susitna Borough School District from 1984 to 2013. During his 29-year career, he served as a teacher, coach, assistant principal, principal and executive director of instruction with an enrollment approaching 18,000 students. Since his retirement in 2013, McPhail has worked for the MSBSD part-time overseeing students who are on long-term suspensions. He holds a bachelor of arts degree from Eastern New Mexico University and a master’s degree from the United States Sports Academy. The MSHF board of directors also chose officers for 2016/17. Scott Johannes was elected as the board’s chair, Mary Olson as vice chair, and Ken Kincaid was reelected as secretary/treasurer.

Michael C. Geraghty of Oles Morrison Rinker Baker LLP was selected for inclusion in the 2017 edition of Best Lawyers in America, the legal profession’s oldest and most respected peer-review publication. Geraghty is listed for construction law and personal injury litigation. He returned to private practice after serving for three years as Attorney General for the State of Alaska from 2012-14.

Debbie Hahn of PIP in Anchorage was named Salesperson of the Year for the western region. The award was announced at the annual PIP Convention July 21-23 at the Hyatt Regency New Orleans. PIP is a marketing, signs and print services provider with a worldwide network of nearly 400 franchise locations and affiliates.

The Anchorage Chamber of Commerce’s 59th Annual Gold Pan Awards “A Night to Shine” will begin at 6 p.m. on Sept. 9 at the Hotel Captain Cook. The Gold Pan Awards will recognize and celebrate the accomplishments of 12 nominees. The 12 finalists in four categories are: Business Excellence, Timothy Hall, RSA Engineering, Inc.; Jim Udelhoven, Udelhoven Operating Cos.; Chris Dunn, Renewal by Andersen. Distinguished Community Service of a Large Business with over 30 employees, Alana Humprey, Boys & Girls Club; Raquel Edelin, Hotel Captain Cook; Michelle Engelke, Denali Express Chevron. Distinguished Community Service by an Individual, Organization or a Small Business with fewer than 30 employees, Magen James, Army One Source; Kristin George, Sullivan’s Steak House; Ted Sadtler, Mattress Ranch. Entrepreneurial Excellence, Donna DeMarco, Accurate Hearing Systems; Zoi Maroudas-Tziolas, Bambino’s Baby Food; Stephen Trimble, Arctic Solar Ventures. Tickets for the 59th Annual Gold Pan Awards are now on sale. Cost is $100 per person or $1,000 for a table of 10. Make your reservation at Deadline to RSVP is 5 p.m. on Sept. 2.


08/24/2016 - 12:13pm