Movers & Shakers 5/31/15

Photo/Courtesy/Rasmuson Foundation

Kaulitz named Rasmuson Foundation Distinguished Artist

Anchorage artist Garry Kaulitz has been named the 2015 Rasmuson Foundation Distinguished Artist. The $40,000 award, announced May 19, recognizes an artist with stature and a history of creative excellence. Kaulitz is the 12th Alaskan artist to receive the award and he joins a prestigious list of previous winners including Peggy Shumaker (2014), Teri Rofkar (2013), Kes Woodward (2012), Ray Troll (2011), John Luther Adams (2010), Nathan Jackson (2009), Ronald Senungetuk (2008), Rie Munoz (2007), Delores Churchill (2006), John Haines (2005) and Sylvester Ayek (2004).

“Foremost, Garry Kaulitz describes himself as a practicing artist who specializes in the visions that dance in his head,” said Diane Kaplan, Rasmuson Foundation president.

Kaulitz’ works have been exhibited internationally, nationally and regionally. He has received numerous awards, grants and residencies and is represented in many private, public and museum collections. Kaulitz is Professor Emeritus of Art at the University of Alaska Anchorage, where he taught from 1993 to 2014. Since retiring last year, he has been conducting workshops and managing a co-op print shop. His current work deals with the juxtaposition of biographical reflections and the human form with mind frictions and fictions.

Before coming to Alaska, he was owner and master printer at a press in his name and taught at The Louisville School of Art, University of Louisville and University of Indiana. He earned his Master of Fine Arts in printmaking at Rochester Institute of Technology.

In addition to the Distinguished Artist Award, Rasmuson Foundation also awarded 25 Project Grants (worth up to $7,500 each) and 10 Fellowships (worth up to $18,000 each). These artists were chosen from more than 300 applicants, whose applications were judged by an esteemed national panel of artists and arts leaders. A complete list of award recipients is attached.

This year’s winners represent 12 different communities across Alaska: Anchorage, Chevak, Eagle River, Fairbanks, Glennallen, Haines, Juneau, Ketchikan, Port Alsworth, Sitka, Skagway and Talkeetna. The list of all fellows and grant winners can be found at

Bettina Chastain, Sisi Cooper and Bruce Dougherty were elected to the Chugach Electric Association board of directors. The two candidates receiving the most votes, Chastain and Cooper, were elected to four-years terms. Dougherty was elected to a special one-year term created by a recent resignation from the board. Chastain is a self-employed executive and engineering consultant. Cooper is a project engineer with Doyon Anvil, first elected to the board in 2012. Dougherty is a health program manager with the State of Alaska. Janet Reiser was elected board chair, Susan Reeves was elected vice-chair, Cooper was elected treasurer and Dougherty was elected secretary.

Sarah Erkmann, external affairs manager for the Alaska Oil and Gas Association, has successfully completed the Examination for Accreditation in Public Relations, entitling her to use the APR professional designation. The program aims to improve the practice of public relations by assessing competence in 60 areas of knowledge, skills and abilities associated with the profession. The examination is designed for public relations professionals with five to seven years of job experience and/or a bachelor’s degree in a communication field. Erkmann has been with AOGA for three years, and has worked in public relations for more than 15 years.

Carlile driver Danny Radcliffe of Fairbanks was named Grand Champion for the second year in a row at the Alaska Trucking Association’s 2015 Truck Driving Championships. Radcliffe had the best cumulative score in three testing categories, and also placed first in the 5-axle flat bed competition. Carlile driver Kenny Jones was recognized as the Alaska Truck Driving Association’s 2015 Driver of the Year. A “Geezer” category, for more mature and retired drivers, was won by Carlile co-founder John McDonald. Jones has logged more than 3.5 million miles throughout a 45-year career, more than 1 million miles accumulated since 1996. Jones was inducted in the Carlile 1 Million Mile Club in 2007, and is also a member of the Caterpillar 1 Million Mile Club. This is his second recognition as the Alaska Trucking Association’s Driver of the Year, having won the award first in 2000. First place winners in all categories will move on to the National Truck Driving Championships in St. Louis later this summer. Brad Hinkes of Carlile also took first place in the 5-axle tanker category.

Richard Hall was hired as hospital administrator for Arctic Slope Native Association, effective May 11, at the Samuel Simmonds Memorial Hospital. Hall is a registered nurse and has a master’s degree in business administration with an engineering background. He has 25 years of health care experience with 15 of those years in leadership positions. Hall has worked with medical and emergency room staff and has lead nursing in large hospital facilities, including the Alaska Native Medical Center facility in Anchorage, Alaska.

Dale Patrick has joined the R&M Consultants Inc. Anchorage office Earth Sciences Department as a geologist in March. Patrick has three years of geology experience, and spent six field seasons as a field geologist working at drilling operations for both hardrock and sediments at several locations in Alaska. Since joining R&M, Patrick has been involved with the Statewide Materials Site Inventory for the Alaska Department of Transportation and Public Facilities. He has been working on status updates and location maps for miscellaneous materials sites in rural villages and along the Steese and Seward Highways for this project. Patrick has bachelor’s degree in geological sciences from the University of Alaska Anchorage.

Dr. April Counceller has been selected as the executive director of Kodiak’s Alutiiq Museum by the Alutiiq Heritage Foundation, effective May 11. A member of the Sun’aq Tribe, Counceller grew up in Larsen Bay and Kodiak, graduating from Kodiak High School. She earned her bachelor’s degree in anthropology and American civilization from Brown University, and then completed a master’s degree in rural development through the University of Alaska Fairbanks. Her research was supported by a prestigious Truman Scholarship, and led to a Ph.D. in the interdisciplinary program in language planning and indigenous knowledge systems, awarded by UAF in 2010. Counceller interned at the museum as both a high school and college student, and then became the manager of the museum’s Alutiiq language programs. She held this position for more than a decade, successfully designing, funding, and implementing numerous projects to preserve and share Alutiiq speech and traditions. For the past two years, Counceller has been working as an assistant professor of Alaska Native studies at Kodiak College, where she built an Alutiiq studies program, taught courses, and mentored students.

Steve Potter has accepted the position of Northern Region Maintenance chief for the Alaska Department of Transportation & Public Facilities. Potter has served as Northern Region Maintenance and Operations manager since 2012. Potter has more than 28 years of experience in maintenance with the department. He started his career as a seasonal equipment operator in 1985 and has held positions as crew foreman, station foreman, statewide heavy equipment operator training coordinator and the Fairbanks district maintenance superintendent. In 2007 Potter was selected to establish the Statewide Heavy Equipment Operator Training program.

05/27/2015 - 1:24pm