Movers & Shakers 4/19/15

Dr. Markus Horning has been appointed Science director of the Alaska SeaLife Center effective July 13. He will succeed Dr. Tuula Hollmén, who has chosen to return to a full time research position at the Center following five years as Science director. Horning is currently an associate professor at Oregon State University’s Marine Mammal Institute. He has conducted research at the Alaska SeaLife Center since its opening, most recently collaborating with Dr. Jo-Ann Mellish on a long-term study into the life history of Steller sea lions that recently theorized on the impact of predation by sleeper sharks. Horning holds a Ph.D. in zoology from the University of Bielefeld and Max Planck Institute for Behavioral Physiology at Seewiesen, Germany. Following postdoctoral research at the Scripps Institution of Oceanography he was a scientist at Texas A&M University for 10 years. He has authored nearly 50 peer-reviewed publications and his research has been funded by the National Science Foundation, North Pacific Research Board, Pollock Conservation Cooperative Research Center, North Pacific Fisheries Foundation, and the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Association.

Amanda Cotea is now a realtor at Monica Dallas Realty in Fairbanks. Cotea has worked for Monica Dallas Realty since summer 2014. In six months, she obtained her real estate sales license and has been promoted to office manager. She was born in Fairbanks, and her mother and grandmother had careers in real estate across the country.

KPMG LLP has named Elizabeth Stuart as managing partner of its Anchorage office, effective April 1. Stuart grew up in Alaska and has more than two decades of experience in public accounting, including 19 years in KPMG’s Anchorage office. She also completed a rotational assignment in KPMG’s Department of Professional Practice in KPMG’s national office in New York. She joined KPMG in 1994 and was admitted to the partnership in 2009. Stuart succeeds Michael Hayhurst, who was named managing partner of KPMG’s Boise office. Stuart is a graduate of the University of Alaska Anchorage and she serves on its College of Business and Public Policy Advisory Board. She is also a board member of Habitat for Humanity-Anchorage and Junior Achievement of Alaska. She is a Certified Public Accountant licensed to practice in Alaska and New York.

The Tatitlek Corp. announced that Martin Hanofee has been confirmed as the organization’s new president. Hanofee, formerly senior vice president of Operations, has held his previous position with the company since March 2009. Hanofee holds a bachelor’s degree in engineering from the University of West Haven (Conn.).

Three individuals were selected for awards during the Alaska Pharmacists Association February Annual Convention in Anchorage. John McGilvray, a clinical pharmacist with the Southcentral Foundation Primary Care Center Pharmacy in Anchorage, received the Distinguished Alaskan Pharmacist Award. Brittany Keener, a clinical pharmacist with the Alaska Native Medical Center in Anchorage, received the Distinguished Young Pharmacist Award, presented annually by Pharmacists Mutual. Henry Marin, a pharmacy technician supervisor with Costco in Anchorage, received the Pharmacy Technician Award. The Alaska Pharmacists Association annually awards scholarships to Alaskan students actively pursuing careers in pharmacy based on their achievements and service to their profession and community. Ashley Holombo of Juneau, enrolled in the College of Pharmacy and Health Sciences at Campbell University in North Carolina, was selected for the 2015 Francis C. Bowden Memorial Scholarship. Leslie Echols of Eagle River, enrolled in the Pharmacy Technician Program at the University of Alaska Anchorage, was selected for the 2015 Pharmacy Technician Scholarship. Applications for Spring 2016 scholarships will be available Fall 2015 at

04/16/2015 - 8:01am