Movers & Shakers 09/15/13

Lane Powell Shareholders Brewster H. Jamieson and Michael J. Parise were named as 2013 “Alaska Super Lawyers” by Thomson Reuters’ Super Lawyers magazine, in the areas of general litigation and business/corporate, respectively. This is Parise’s fourth year and Jamieson’s fifth year to be named as “Alaska Super Lawyers.” No more than 5 percent of Alaska attorneys are given this honor.

University of Alaska Anchorage alumnus Andrew Romerdahl will serve as the first Weidner Chair in Business Management for 2014. In 2011, Dean Weidner, founder and owner of Weidner Property Management, pledged $3 million to establish an endowed chair in UAA’s College of Business and Public Policy; Weidner also gave $1 million to create an emphasis in real estate and property management within the Bachelor of Business Administration finance degree. The Weidner Chair in Business Management will help the college expand its programs to meet the changing demand of the business community and provide opportunities to hire exceptional professors or professionals in a particular field of study. Romerdahl is a lifelong Alaskan, who grew up in Anchorage and attended East Anchorage High School. He received a bachelor’s degree from Willamette University in economics and Spanish and a master of business administration from the University of Alaska Anchorage in 2008. Romerdahl recently joined Providence Health and Services as the Director of Real Estate and Construction for the Alaska Region. He is a licensed real estate professional in both Alaska and Oregon. Romerdahl is also a certified general real estate appraiser, and holds the prestigious MAI designation from the Appraisal Institute. He has a decade of commercial real estate experience in Alaska, and has worked at Pacific Tower Properties/PTP Management, Pfeffer Development, Reliant Advisory Services and Pacific Realty. Romerdahl is the immediate past president of the UAA Alumni Association board of directors. He is also the immediate past president of the Building Owners and Manager’s Association Anchorage, and is on their board of directors.

Jason Stutes, PhD, has been promoted to associate marine ecologist, and is now Hart Crowser’s Anchorage office manager. Stutes has supported Hart Crowser projects involving nearshore permitting, baseline studies, and environmental restoration for seven years. Adrienne Stutes also based in Anchorage, has been promoted to project marine scientist and is technical lead for many projects evaluating the effects of environmental chemistry and contamination on freshwater and marine natural resources.  She has supported these types of projects at Hart Crowser for five years.

The Bristol Bay Native Corp. Education Foundation board has announced the hire of BBNC shareholder Greta L. Goto to fill the position of executive director. After more than 13 years, executive director Luanne Pelagio is retiring this fall. Goto began her new position on Sept. 9 and will work alongside Pelagio during a transition period. Goto earned her master of business administration from the University of Alaska Anchorage and her undergraduate degree in foreign service from Georgetown University. She brings with her more than 10 years of professional experience in strategic planning, development, grant program and budget management, and advocacy and constituency building. Goto worked as projects manager, Office of Academic Affairs, Workforce Program at the University of Alaska Statewide for the past three years and is owner of GLG Consulting. She is an alumna of the BBNC Education Foundation and served on the Foundation board from 2006 to 2009.

Bob Heinrich, vice president of finance for ConocoPhillips Alaska, was seated as board chair at the Anchorage Chamber’s Sept. 6 board meeting with Janelle Pfleiger of RE/MAX Dynamic Properties accepting his nomination as chair-elect. 
Julie Anderson with the Alaska Energy Authority accepted the vice chair position while Bill O’Leary of the Alaska Railroad Corporation will stay on as the board’s secretary/treasurer. Newly elected officers include Melissa Reiser (First National Bank Alaska) and Tim Thompson (Alaska Airlines) while Eden Lovejoy (, Sandra Heffern (EHD Enterprises), Anne Reed (Read Systems), Bruce Bustamante (Princess Tours), Mike Hayhurst (KPMG), Colleen Starring (ENSTAR Natural Gas Co.), Greg Mattson (BP), Chris Clifford (Wells Fargo), and Susan Jensen (Bayshore) will continue their service on the board. The board also confirmed the appointment of newest board members, Art Clark (Art Clark–Broker) and Joy Merriner (BDO USA, LLP) while Rochelle Marshall (GCI), J.R. Wilcox (Cook Inlet Energy), Andy Coon (Alaska Communications), Andy McLeod (KTUU), Jan Seglem (ExxonMobil), Robert Honeycutt (Providence Medical Center), Richard Watts (Safeway), Marti Buscaglia, (Anchorage Daily News), Randy Cunningham (Klebs Mechanical) and Matt Thiel (Hickel Investment Co.) will continue their terms. Ex-Officio board members confirmed include Col. Davis (US Army, Alaska, Fort Richardson), Col. Duffy (US Air Force, Elmendorf), Col. Kerrigan (Alaska Army National Guard), Bill Evans (Sedor, Wendlandt, Evans & Filippi) Ed Graff (Anchorage School District), Rashmi Prasad (College of Business and Public Policy at UAA), Bill Popp (Anchorage Economic Development Corp.), Tom Williams (BP), Julie Saupe (Anchorage Convention Visitor’s Bureau), Christopher Schutte (Anchorage Downtown Partnership, Ltd.), Chris Birch (Anchorage Assembly) and George Vakalis (Municipality of Anchorage).

Jessica Stine has joined Spark Design LLC as an intern architect. Stine graduated with honors from Illinois Institute of Technology in 2008 with a bachelor’s degree in architecture. In 2013 she received her NCIDQ certification and will soon be sitting for the architectural licensing exams. Stine’s professional experience has encompassed a wide range of projects types including corporate, healthcare, retail, nonprofit, residential, and graphic design.

09/12/2013 - 11:53am