Movers & Shakers 05/05/13

The 2013 recipients of the First Lady’s Volunteer of the Year Awards were chosen by an executive committee of Alaskan community members. They are: Earline Smith, Juneau: For more than two decades, volunteer and mentor Smith, 92, has given countless hours to the youth at the Johnson Youth Center in Juneau. Steve Fishback, Anchorage: Fishback makes volunteer contributions to the design and construction of Camp Fire Alaska campsite facilities, and through his leadership of volunteer work crews to keep these construction projects on schedule. Patricia Myers, Fairbanks: Myers is an informal “auntie” for youth who are pursuing a second chance at the Fairbanks Youth Facility. She visits the detention center weekly, where she mentors and leads students toward transformation and personal development. William Gaines, Anchorage: Gaines is known to his students and football players in the Anchorage area as “Coach Wiz.” He devotes countless hours to the Alaska South Central Pop Warner Football and Cheerleading program, which he helped launch, as well as the Boys and Girls Club, where he also coaches. Dr. Robyn Rehmann, Anchorage: Rehmann is recognized not only for being a long-time educator in the Anchorage School District, but for her decades of volunteerism, helping women in need, the homeless, and those with disabilities or special needs throughout the community. Richard Groff, Cordova: Serving for more than 40 years as a volunteer firefighter in the communities of Ketchikan and Cordova, Groff makes public safety and disaster response his core mission. Terrence T. Jason Shanigan, Anchorage: As an Alaska State Trooper, Shanigan embodies the Trooper motto: “Loyalty, Integrity, Courage.” This Aleut leader instills positive values in those whose lives he touches. He is known for his dog-mushing trips to rural communities to address the issues of suicide, sexual assault, and substance abuse. The volunteers will be recognized at a luncheon and ceremony on May 10.

Tania Smallenberg, immunization nurse coordinator with the Alaska Native Tribal Health Consortium Immunization Program, was named the 2013 Alaska Childhood Immunization Champion in recognition of her outstanding efforts to promote childhood immunization throughout Alaska. Smallenberg is recognized for her work building and refining the structure of the ANTHC Immunization Coordinators Program. Her collaboration with Alaska Public Health Nursing, rural and urban immunization providers, and health care policy makers, combined with her appreciation of and attention to Alaska’s diverse cultural identities, have improved access to vaccination across the state.

Paul Dillahay has been named president and CEO of Arctic Slope Regional Corp. Federal. Dillahay is a seasoned executive with a proven track record of driving growth and organizational success. Dillahay previously served as ASRC Federal’s chief operating officer and had principal responsibility for day-to-day operations of ASRC Federal subsidiaries and the company’s Shared Services Center. Prior to joining ASRC Federal in 2011, Dillahay was president and COO of USIS. He previously spent seven years in finance and operations at Lockheed Martin, where he led a broad business line providing support to the defense and intelligence community. Dillahay succeeds Ken Asbury, who left ASRC Federal to pursue other interests.

Ben W. Colson has been named the 2013 BP Teacher of the Year for the Anchorage School District. The honor as BP Teacher of the Year was announced at the celebration at the Alaska Native Heritage Center. Colson teaches social studies at SAVE High School. For the past decade he has taken students to Washington, D.C., with the Close Up program, a trip that for many will be a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity to see our nation’s capital and government at work. By promoting student involvement in community service efforts he helps build a sense of pride in his students as they integrate themselves into the community where they will become productive members.

Tom Mayer is the new director of the Division of General Services for the Alaska Department of Administration and Jason Soza is the new chief procurement officer for the division. Both began their new roles May. 1. Mayer has worked in procurement for the State since 2002. Mayer managed the Central Purchasing Program and Procurement Officer Certification Training Program, supervised the contracting officer group, facilitated division outreach programs to other State departments and conducted numerous high-level, multi-agency procurements. Soza developed and implemented the Task Order Procurement System, co-led a rural outreach program to educate rural Alaskans on the benefits of statewide contracts which won a national award, played an instrumental role in procurement reform legislation, and contributed to soliciting and awarding some of the most complex and highly visible contracts for the State of Alaska.

Full-service ad agency Bradley Reid + Associates announced the promotions of Jason Smith and Jontue Hollingsworth and the hiring of Janice Wright as an account supervisor. Smith has been named creative director of Bradley Reid. Smith has been with the agency since 2006 as an art director, creating print ads, branding campaigns and marketing materials for many of the agency’s clients, including ConocoPhillips Alaska, the Pebble Partnership, the Alaska Permanent Fund, CIRI Alaska Tourism Corp.  and Alaska Public Media. He received a BFA degree in design from Utah State University at Logan. Hollingsworth will become associate creative director. Hollingsworth joined Bradley Reid as an Art Director and has been a key designer for the firm. His work includes designing a new logo for the Alaska Marine Highway; design of this year’s Arctic Slope Regional Corp. annual report; and art direction for photo and video shoots. He is a graduate of the Visual Communication and Design program at the University of Nebraska. Wright will oversee advertising and public relations projects and serve as a link between clients and Bradley Reid’s staff of creative professionals. Wright brings more than 25 years of media sales to her new job. She spent nearly 15 years at KTVA Channel 11 as an outside sales person, followed by 10 years at GCI developing marketing strategies and branding on 54 channels in 18 markets statewide.

05/02/2013 - 8:54am