Movers and Shakers for Oct. 8

The Central Council of Tlingit and Haida Indian Tribes of Alaska Executive Council selected Sitka Delegate Wilbur Brown to serve the remaining term (April 2018) of the sixth vice president position. The seat was left vacant after the sudden passing of Edward K. (Sam) Thomas Jr. in June. In addition to serving as a Sitka Delegate, Brown holds the position of vice president of the Sitka Tlingit and Haida Chapter, serves on the Sitka Tribe of Alaska Tribal Council and STA’s Tribal Economic Development Committee, and is a member of Tlingit and Haida’s Judiciary Committee. He also serves as the Alaska Native Brotherhood Camp No. 1 President and the ANB Grand Camp second vice president. Brown is an Army veteran and holds an associate’s degree from the University of Alaska Fairbanks in rural human services and graduated with cum laude honors. He currently serves as a probation officer for the Juneau Therapeutic Courts. Prior to that, he worked in various community prevention and policy positions in Southeast Alaska in both public and private sectors.

U.S. Senate Energy and Natural Resources Committee Chair Sen. Lisa Murkowski announced that Deputy Staff Director Brian Hughes will succeed Colin Hayes as staff director. Hughes first came to Washington, D.C., to intern for Sen. Ted Stevens during college. After working as Stevens’ speechwriter, he moved to the committee in 2007. He has held a variety of positions, ranging from legislative aide to senior writer and policy advisor. Hughes left the committee briefly to serve as a speechwriter on the Romney-Ryan presidential campaign in 2012. He has served as the committee’s deputy staff director since December 2015.

Officers were elected for the Alaska Superintendents Association at its annual fall conference. They are: Fairbanks School District Superintendent Dr. Karen Gaborik, president; Wrangell Public School District Superintendent Patrick Mayer, president-elect; Yukon-Koyukuk School District Superintendent Kerry Boyd, secretary/treasurer. Other members of the 2017-18 ASA board of directors include: Kenai Peninsula Borough School District Superintendent Sean Dusek, immediate Past President; Galena School District Superintendent Chris Reitan, Seat A-small single site and borough districts; Nome School District Superintendent Shawn Arnold, Seat B-mid-size city and borough districts, Bering Strait School District Superintendent Dr. Bobby Bolen, Seat C-large REAA and similar borough districts; Lake &Peninsula Superintendent School District Ty Mase, Seat D-mid-size and small REAA districts; and Juneau Borough School District Superintendent Dr. Mark Miller, Seat E-large city and borough districts.

Kevin R. Feldis has joined the Perkins Coie commercial litigation practice as a partner in the Anchorage and Washington D.C. offices with an emphasis on complex litigation, white collar investigations, cybersecurity and corporate compliance. Feldis was the first assistant United States Attorney and Criminal Division chief with the U.S. Attorney’s Office in Alaska where he specialized in corporate investigations, fraud, environmental and cybercrime. Feldis is also a seasoned international lawyer, and served as the Department of Justice Legal Advisor at the U.S. Embassies in Baku, Azerbaijan and Jakarta, Indonesia. While with the Department of Justice he received the prestigious John Marshall Award. Feldis earned his juris doctor from The University of Chicago Law School and received his bachelor’s degree, cum laude, from Yale University.

The Nominating Committee of the International Economic Development Council has elected Alaska Industrial Development and Export Authority Business Development and Communications Director Michael Catsi to its board of directors for a two-year term. Catsi pursues business development opportunities and oversees communications for the AIDEA. He serves as the chair of AIDEA’s Project Suitability Committee, and as a member of the investment review committees. Prior to joining the authority, Catsi led economic development organizations as executive director of the Southwest Alaska Municipal Conference and the Skagway Development Corp. He currently serves on the Advisory Board for the Launch:Alaska business accelerator. Catsi has served as president of the Alaska Partnership for Economic Development, and of the Alaska Manufacturing Extension Partnership. Catsi is a Certified Economic Developer, and graduated with a bachelor’s degree in geography from the University of New South Wales, Australia.

10/04/2017 - 12:14pm