Movers and Shakers for May 21

Sitnasuak Native Corp. promoted Lucille Sands to corporate compliance officer. Sands was originally hired in October 2016 as a project administrator working primarily in contracts administration. Sands’ previous positions include staff accountant and customer service manager with Bering Air Inc.; accounting specialist and stockholder registrar with Bering Straits Native Corp.; Eskimo Walrus Commission specialist and accounting specialist with Kawerak Inc.; franchise business consultant with Subway Development of Southwest Washington Inc.; staff accountant with PenAir and most recently as contracts administrator with Bering Straits Native Corp. Sands is Inupiaq, and originally from Nome and Teller. She received a bachelor of business administration with a minor in Alaska Native business management from the University of Alaska Anchorage.

Aleutian Pribilof Island Community Development Association hired Bob O’Bryant to lead all operational and marketing efforts at Cannon Fish Co., a seafood processing and marketing firm located in Kent, Wash. O’Bryant is succeeding Pat Rogan as president. Rogan will continue his work into June to help ensure a smooth and successful transition. O’Bryant is a seasoned professional known throughout the industry for his management and ability to produce, brand and market value‐added seafood products. He most recently served as vice president of sales and marketing for Bellingham, Wash.‐based Bornstein Seafood. The majority of O’Bryant’s career had been spent at Pacific Seafood Group, where he served in many capacities including the general manager of Starfish, a consumer packaged goods brand known for developing and launching a successful gluten‐free breaded seafood line, general manager of Salmolux, the smoke salmon division and as the PSG marketing director.

U.S. Sen. Lisa Murkowski announced several promotions and additions to her Senate Energy and Natural Resources Committee staff. The promotions are Severin Wiggenhorn to senior counsel, Brianne Miller to senior professional staff and energy policy advisor, Annie Hoefler to professional staff member, Melissa Enriquez to executive assistant, and Jason Huffnagle to digital content manager. The new hires are Lane Dickson and Dr. Ben Reinke as professional staff members, Barbara Repeta as a Bevinetto Fellow, Robert Ivanauskas as a Federal Energy Regulatory Commission detailee, Sean Solie as a staff assistant, and John Starkey as a non-designated staff assistant.

The University of Alaska Southeast announced that the following faculty have been selected as this year’s Faculty Excellence Award winners. Teaching Award: Reid Brewer, Ph.D., associate professor of Fisheries Technology, Sitka; Adjunct Instruction Award: Roby Littlefield, adjunct instructor of Alaskan language, Sitka; Faculty Advising Award: Leslie Gordon, M.S., associate professor, health information management, Sitka; Research Award: Brian Buma, Ph.D., assistant professor of forest ecosystem ecology, School of Arts &Sciences; Service Award: Math Trafton, Ph.D., assistant professor of English, Sitka.

05/17/2017 - 12:43pm